Bootcamp-&-thoughts in the heat of the moment…

Paola DM
2 min readOct 30, 2020

…comparing frontend frameworks Bootstrap and PureCSS

Some times self-teaching means several trials before getting it right and resilience is your friend. When it comes to speed challenges instead you better know which framework and dev tools you want to pick up.

When I approached the world of frameworks, I decided to start with an easy one, all my dev-friends pointed to Bootstrap. My previous experience with coding was mainly with pure CSS, which I still enjoy. I have to say that after a first web page made with this framework, I was less enthusiast about Bootstrap, which I found too much opinionated* for my creativity.

Now that I joined a bootcamp, what a better place to experiment new tools? I took this chance during my first-time speed prototyping project. My choice was for PureCSS, supposedly easier and more unopinionated (flexible) than the previous one.

Unfortunately, the documentation to me was not very clear, or at least not as immediate as bootstrap.

error message

I also experienced that even if the CDN link was in my project, the style was not applying as expected.

What was not working?

Ehm, not sure! But, I found this integrity message while inspecteing my webpage. So I opted for an easier solution, the good copy and paste.

I created a CSS file and attached it to my project. Well, after a second trial, I managed to see some changes without writing any CSS rule.

WOHOO!

from Ghipy.com

What remains interesting is that some pre-made elements like a toolbar or a grid, when I copy-paste the code in my project, still not responded as expected. Was it not working again?

No, Pure CSS is extremely flexible. It has a custom feature you can style and has other links if you want to style only some bits of your project, such as a grid or a toolbar.

Conclusion if you want flexibility and enjoying coding in CSS PureCss could be an option.
Bootstrap with all the headaches that can give you if you want to add your personal touch, still doing the bulk for you.

The main lesson I learned today is that when it comes to choose the dev tool choosing between un-opinionated and an opinionated one you better choose the right one or you risk to get lost in documentation.

Here the page I modified using an unfinished project just to get a taste.

--

--

Paola DM

webdeveloper, coach and workshop organizer @codebar student @futureproof